Monday, July 7, 2014

Important Facts About National Emblem of India for SSC Exams

(1) The National Emblem of India is a replica of the Lion of Sarnath, near Varanasi in Uttar Pradesh. National Emblem is adopted on 26 January 1950, the day India became a republic. 

(2) The Lion Capital was erected in the third century BC by Emperor Ashoka to mark the spot where Buddha first proclaimed his gospel of peace and emancipation to the four quarters of the universe. 

(3)The National emblem is symbolic of contemporary India's reaffirmation of its ancient commitment to world peace and goodwill. 

(4) The four Lions (one hidden from view) - symbolize power, courage and confidence. 

(5)The four Lions rest on a circular abacus. 

(6)The abacus is girded by four smaller animals - guardians of the four directions: the Lion of the north, the Elephant of the east, the Horse of the south and the Bull of the west. 

(7)The Elephant of the east is a representation of Queen Maya’s conception of Buddha when she saw a white elephant entering her womb in a dream. The Bull of the west represents desire during the life of the Buddha as a prince. The Horse of the south symbolizes Buddha’s departure from palatial life. The Lion of the North represents the attainment of Nirvana by Lord Buddha. 

(8) The abacus rests on a lotus in full bloom which exemplifies the fountainhead of life and creative inspiration.
The motto, 'Satyameva Jayate,' is inscribed below the emblem in Devanagari script. "Satyameva Jayate' means 'truth alone triumphs'.

Get Study Materials in Your E-Mail


Post a Comment

Leave your comment but never use bad words otherwise you will be blocked.

Latest Maths Tricks and Quizzes

Latest Daily Quizzes on Different Subject